Uptime Institute develops international standard for data center facilities management

May 25, 2010
The Uptime Institute has developed a new standard that defines and classifies the risk factors to a data center’s sustained uptime.

NEW YORK -- The Uptime Institute announced it has developed a new standard that defines and classifies the risk factors to a data center’s sustained uptime.

The new standard, “Tier Standard: Operational Sustainability”, will be released July 1, 2010. The Operational Sustainability Standard works in tandem with Uptime’s international Tier Classification System. The established Tier Classification System ensures a data center’s infrastructure is designed for uninterruptable uptime in line with its business requirements; Operational Sustainability will address the rigorous operations required to maintain a data center’s availability over the long term.

Uptime Institute: TIA-942 is not a guideline for our data center Tiers

The Operational Sustainability Standard is based on three elements that are most influential in a data center’s ongoing performance: Management & Operations, Building Characteristics, and Site Location. These prioritized elements are based on analysis of Uptime Institute’s “abnormal incident” reporting database, which is the world’s largest. The risk factors to be detailed in “Tier Standard: Operational Sustainability” capture thousands of ‘lessons learned’.

“The highest level of redundancy in a data center can be defeated by human error, building conditions, or a local or regional disaster,” said Julian Kudritzki, vice president, Uptime Institute. “Of top concern are human errors which account for 70% of the reported outages in our database.”

Data center tier classifications and five-nines availability

The Tier Classification System, as outlined in the authoritative requirements document Tier Standard: Topology, defines data centers in accordance with four Tier levels (I-IV). According to this rating system, Tier IV sites are capable of the highest level of uptime. The Operational Sustainability Program establishes a standard for risk mitigation and site management behaviors by Tier level. Tier Standard: Operational Sustainability also provides a means to rate how effectively each data center is managed and operated based on each Tier’s criteria. These ratings, Gold, Silver or Bronze, are designed to complement the Tiers, e.g., Tier III Gold.

“The Uptime Institute’s Tier Classification System is the worldwide language of data center performance. Similarly, Operational Sustainability will be the language of data center facilities management,” continued Kudritzki. “The industry voiced a desire for Uptime Institute guidance regarding the operation of the data center infrastructure and we’re responding with a whole new standard.”

More info: www.uptimeinstitute.com.

Sponsored Recommendations

Cat 6A Frequently Asked Questions

April 29, 2024
At CommScope we know about network change and the importance of getting it right. Conclusion Category 6A cabling and connectivity.

Revolutionize Your Network with Propel Fiber Modules

Oct. 24, 2023
Four sizes of interchangeable Propel fiber modules provide the breadth of capabilities for virtually any configuration.

Elevate Your Network with Propel High-Density Panels

Oct. 24, 2023
Propel Series Sliding Fiber Optic Panels

Constellation™ - Explore power and data products

Oct. 24, 2023
Discover the Essentials for Building Your Power and Data System!