TIA-942-A co-editor headlining data center cabling panel

J&M Consultants' Jonathan Jew will join a data center manager and others in a live interactive discussion on May 17.

Jonathan Jew, president of J&M Consultants and a key contributor to the recently approved TIA-942-A data center cabling standard as well as its predecessor TIA-942, will headline an online panel discussion hosted by Anixter on Thursday, May 17. The panel will be part of a comprehensive online event featuring a video presentation, the live panel discussion, and "virtual" exhibitions from a number of cabling-industry vendors.

The new 942-A standard is likely to be a topic that comes up during the panel discussion, in which audience members will submit questions to panelists. "There are a lot of great updates in TIA-942-A that not only bring it in line with current industry changes such as energy efficiency and modular data centers, but that also position the data center infrastructure to support the next generation networks," Jew said. "Cabling system designers and installers can benefit from being up to date on these changes because they affect the decisions they should be making now."

Joining Jew on the panel will be Anixter's vice president of technology, Andy Jimenez; Scripps Networks' director of operations and telecommunications, Jason Norton; and Cabling Installation & Maintenance's chief editor, Patrick McLaughlin.

The event will begin at 11:30am ET/8:30am PT when the venue opens and attendees can interact with one another in a virtual environment. At 12 noon ET/9am PT, a 20-minute video will cover topics related to infrastructure reliability in data centers. The live, streaming panel discussion will immediately follow the video. At 12:40pm ET/9:40am PT, the "partner pavilion" opens, allowing attendees to visit virtual booths and interact with participating companies. The following manufacturers are scheduled to have virtual booths at the event: APC by Schneider Electric; Belden; Berk-Tek; Chatsworth Products Inc.; CommScope; Corning; Legrand Ortronics; Emerson Network Power; Panduit; Redwood Systems; TE Connectivity; and Transition Networks.

You can find more detailed information about the event here and register for it here.

More in High Speed Cabling