TIA applauds president's nominations for FCC

Nov. 15, 2005 - Deborah Tate and Michael Copps will serve a five-year term.

The Telecommunications Industry Association has applauded President Bush's nomination of two commissioners to the Federal Communications Commission.

The president has re-nominated Deborah Tate, director of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority, and Michael Copps. Both are to serve a five-year term expiring June 30, 2010:

"Throughout the last four years, Commissioner Copps has dutifully served the FCC while recognizing and implementing important social goals," says TIA President Matthew Flanigan. "Deborah Tate's experience in state government will bring a new perspective and a balanced approach to the panel of commissioners.

"We are confident that Commissioner Copps and Ms. Tate will help lead the FCC in a positive direction for the information and communications technology industry and the U.S. economy as a whole," Flanigan adds.

The TIA is based in Arlington, VA. For more information visit www.tiaonline.org.

More in Home
Are You Ready for Wi-Fi 6?
Are You Ready for Wi-Fi 6?