TIA cabling standards committees elect leaders

Feb. 14, 2019
The odd-numbered TIA TR-42 cabling standards committees elected chairs and vice chairs at their January meetings.

During the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) TR-42 Committee meetings the week of January 28, the odd-numbered cabling standards development committees—TR-42.1, TR.42.3, TR-42.5, TR-42.7, TR-42.9, TR-42.11, and TR-42.13—elected chairs and vice chairs, each of whom will serve two-year terms in those leadership roles.

Here are the newly elected and re-elected chairs and vice chairs.

  • TR-42.1 Premises Telecommunications Infrastructure: Joseph Cody of Corning was re-elected chair and Diane Forbes of NIS was re-elected vice-chair.
  • TR-42.3 Telecommunications Administration, Pathways, Spaces, Bonding and Grounding: Cindy Montstream of Legrand was re-elected chair and Jonathan Jew of J&M Consultants was re-elected vice chair.
  • TR-42.5 Telecommunications Infrastructure Terms and Symbols: Ron Tellas of Belden was re-elected chair and Diane Forbes of NIS was re-elected vice chair.
  • TR-42.7 Telecommunications Copper Cabling Systems: Wayne Larsen of CommScope was elected chair and Sterling Vaden of TE Connectivity was elected vice chair.
  • TR-42.9 Industrial Telecommunications Infrastructure: Brad Woodman of Molex was elected chair and Brian Shuman of Belden was elected vice chair.
  • TR-42.11 Optical Fiber Systems: Phil Irwin of Panduit was elected chair and Dan Morris of KITCO Fiber Optics was elected vice chair.
  • TR-42.13 Passive Optical Devices and Fiber Optic Metrology: Greg Sandels of OFS was re-elected chair and Dan Morris of KITCO Fiber Optics was re-elected vice chair.

There is one other committee within TR-42—TR-42.12 Optical Fibers and Cables. That committee, as well as the overall TR-42 committee, will elect leadership in January 2020. Currently, OFS’s Sandels serves as TR-42 chair, Belden’s Henry Franc serves as vice chair, and J&M’s Jew serves as secretary. In TR-42.12, Patrick Van Vickle of Sumitomo Electric Lightwave is chair and Roman Shubochkin of OFS is vice chair.

TIA TR-42 and its member committees meet in person three times per year. The individual committees, and task groups within those committees, meet more frequently, typically via teleconference. TR-42’s next meeting will take place June 10-14 in Vancouver, BC, Canada.

Sponsored Recommendations

Power up your system integration with Pulse Power - the game-changing power delivery system

May 10, 2023
Pulse Power is a novel power delivery system that allows System Integrators to safely provide significant power, over long distances, to remote equipment. It is a Class 4 power...

The Agile and Efficient Digital Building

May 9, 2023
This ebook explores how intelligent building solutions can help businesses improve network infrastructure management and optimize data center operations in enterprise buildings...

Constellation™ Power Delivery System Configurator

Oct. 24, 2023
Your Customized Power Solution in Just a Few Clicks! Use this configurator to calculate what you need for a Constellation power delivery system..

Revolutionize Your Network with Propel Fiber Modules

Oct. 24, 2023
Propel Fiber Modules are your gateway to the future of connectivity.