University of Ethernet webinar tackles physical layer

Feb. 23, 2012
Hosted by The Ethernet Alliance, the seminar will focus on the cabling to MAC layers, from 100-Mbit/sec to 100-Gbit/sec Ethernet.

A webinar hosted by The Ethernet Alliance and featuring CommScope's manager of technical marketing Frank Yang will focus on the network's physical layer. Yang serves as marketing chair of the Ethernet Alliance's Next Generation Enterprise Cabling Subcommittee. He will be joined in the webinar by Scott Kipp, president of The Ethernet Alliance and a senior technologist at Brocade.

Yang and Kipp will deliver a 40- to 45-minute presentation entitled "Ethernet 102: The Physical Layer of Ethernet." The Alliance describes it as "a high-level presentation on the basics of the Ethernet physical layer," adding that it "investigates the physical layer from the cabling to the MAC layer. This presentation covers Ethernet nomenclature such as 10GBASE-LRM and signal encodings such as 10GBASE-R. From Fast Ethernet to 100 Gigabit Ethernet, Ethernet 102 shows real-world examples of copper and physical interfaces."

The presentation will be followed by a 15- to 20-minute question-and-answer session.

Yang and Kipp will conduct two separate live presentations of the webinar on Tuesday, February 28. The first will be held at 11:00am EST/8:00am PST and the second at 7:00pm EST/4:00pm PST.

You can register for the earlier session here or register for the later session here. Registrations must be completed by 11:59pm PST on Monday, February 27.

The Ethernet Alliance notes that because the presentation will be delivered via BrightTalk, a BrightTalk account is required in order to view it. Interested individuals can create a BrightTalk account here.

Sponsored Recommendations

Power up your system integration with Pulse Power - the game-changing power delivery system

May 10, 2023
Pulse Power is a novel power delivery system that allows System Integrators to safely provide significant power, over long distances, to remote equipment. It is a Class 4 power...

400G in the Data Center

Aug. 3, 2022
WHATS NEXT FOR THE DATA CENTER: 400G and Beyond

Network Monitoring- Why Tap Modules?

May 1, 2023
EDGE™ and EDGE8® tap modules enable passive optical tapping of the network while reducing downtime and link loss and increasing rack space utilization and density. Unlike other...

The Agile and Efficient Digital Building

May 9, 2023
This ebook explores how intelligent building solutions can help businesses improve network infrastructure management and optimize data center operations in enterprise buildings...