FTTH Council elects new board members

Representatives from Graybar and Corning Cable Systems are among the newly elected board members.

The Fiber to the Home (FTTH) Council Americas, a non-profit organization of nearly 300 companies and organizations focused on advancing FTTH technology, has elected three industry executives to its board of directors for 2013:

-- In recent voting, the FTTH Council elected Walt Donovan, vice president of telecom business development for Quanta Services, and Scott Jackson, business development manager-smart grid for Graybar Electric Co., to three-year terms on the nine-member board.

-- Re-elected to a three-year term on the board was Kevin Morgan, director of marketing for Adtran.

-- Serving as chairman of the board in 2013 will be Kevin Bourg, senior director of global market development for Aurora Networks, who has more than 17 years of industry experience in system engineering, software development, and sales in the telecommunication industry. Bourg has been active in the FTTH Council over the years serving on the technology and planning committees as well as chairperson for the 2012 FTTH Conference & Expo in Dallas, TX.

-- Board member Dave Kiel, director of global marketing for Corning Cable Systems, was chosen by the board to serve as chair-elect for the 2014 board and chair of the 2013 FTTH Conference & Expo.

-- Stepping down from the board after not running for re-election are Doug Dowling, director for telecom network products at TE Connectivity, and current chairman Kyle Hollifield, vice president of marketing and business development at BVU Authority in Bristol, VA.

According to a press release, the recent board elections were the first to be held under the FTTH Council's transition to a new board structure in which the terms of service were increased to three years, and the number of board seats coming up for election each year reduced to three.

Previously, the nine board members served two-year terms with five or four seats coming up for election in alternating years. The council has also limited board service to two consecutive terms before requiring retiring board members to wait at least one year before again seeking election.

See also:
TIA, FTTH Council both urge FCC: Dont undo unbundling rules

More in Standards