FOSA honors U.S. lawmakers for innovation

Dec. 9, 2021
The Fiber Optic Sensing Association’s Champion of Innovation Awards go to Representatives DeFazio of Oregon and Katko of New York.

The Fiber Optic Sensing Association (FOSA) recently announced the recipients of its annual Champion of Innovation Awards. FOSA selected United States House of Representatives members Peter DeFazio (Democrat, Oregon) and John Katko (Republican, New York) “based on their extraordinary leadership in the 117th Congress toward enhancing the safety and security of U.S. critical infrastructure with advanced technology,” the association said.

FOSA presented the awards at its annual member meeting.

“Representatives Katko and DeFazio both understand the positive contributions that technology makes to society,” said FOSA chair Kent Wardley of Fotech Solutions. “Both of FOSA’s honorees have promoted common-sense legislation advancing the adoption of promising new solutions.”

Representative DeFazio, who chairs the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, introduced the INVEST Act and championed the passage of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act. Representative Katko, the ranking Republican on the Homeland Security Committee, “has been a tireless advocate for securing our nation’s borders and critical infrastructure,” FOSA commented.

“These awards are a token of our appreciation,” said FOSA’s policy chair JJ Williams of OptaSense. “We thank Representatives DeFazio and Katko for their leadership.”

Sponsored Recommendations